A Time of Gifts… the beginning of an adventure

HOLLAND

This time next week I’ll be catching a boat to the Hook of Holland to follow the Rhine from sea to source. I will only be carrying a tent, sleeping bag, mat and a few clothes. I have booked one night’s accommodation in the city of Rotterdam (essential, unfortunately, when inner city campsites are a rarity) but that is all! I don’t know how far I will get, how much ground I will cover, or where I’ll be sleeping.

What I do know is that I’ll be stepping the footsteps of Patrick Leigh Fermor, writer, traveller and hero of the Greek resistance movement during WWII. PLF made this journey in the late 1930s, traversing across Germany during the early rise of Nazism, then down through Austria, Slovakia, Hungary, Romania, Bulgaria and Turkey to end in Constantinople (Istanbul). I can’t wait!

Leave a comment

Filed under Adventures

Leave a Reply

